4 Friends Seminar, October 8th.


On the heels of working with Dan Donzella, I have the chance to share the floor with three excellent martial artists.

I jumped at the chance to do this seminar for a lot of reasons – like the chance to work with Frank Heinan and John Kovacs, but, the big reason is the chance to see Keith Roosa in action.

Keith has been digging into Ising Atillo’s “Attilo Balintawak” and I can’t wait to compare/contrast what he is learning to the “Cuentada Balintawak” version I learned from Bobby Taboada.

As students of Dr. C. Jerome Barber, PhD, we were both required to explore other arts and systems while we were training with Jerome.  This goes for all his students.  When we find another system that seems like a good fit, Jerome encourages us to explore it as deeply as possible.  Thanks to this “Liberal Martial Arts” approach to training I’ve been introduced to many great systems and artists, but Bobby Taboada and Balintawak (Cuentada Balintawak) were such a powerful influence on my growth and understanding that they still remain a major component both technically and conceptually in TacArnis training.

I can’t wait to share some of the fundamentals Cuentada Balintawak and share the floor during the last hour with Keith, Frank, and John. But, like I said, I’m going to be picking Keith’s brain (and ‘stealing’ a few drills and skills if I can) while I’m there too.

One thought on “4 Friends Seminar, October 8th.

  1. Hello Paul,

    Thanks for the compliment about my teaching philosophy. All I try to do is my students find the way that fits them the best within the Kenpo-Arnis approach that I use as the basis for my instructional program. I’m not interested in cloning others to fit my image or that of some other instructor regardless of the reputation that someone might have. Teaching the common core concepts of Kenpo-Arnis to everyone is the first step in my program then “tailoring” the art to fit each individual and finally sending people out to explore other options that appeal to them. As the students are able to compare and contrast my instructional ideas with what others are doing they develop their own approach to the arts and self-defense.

Leave a Reply

